Your Council

The Chatham Islands Council is the smallest local authority in New Zealand. Services provided by the Council include looking after the environment and protecting the islands from biosecurity risks, emergency management, waste and water services and resource consents.

Our vision and community outcomes »

The Council vision and list of community outcomes… Read more »

Who we are

As with all local authorities, elections are held every three years to appoint a Mayor and Councillors.

The Chatham Islands Council


Alfred W Preece

Deputy Mayor

Jeffrey Clarke


Eion Chisholm

Monique Croon

Keri Day

Richard Joyce

Nigel Ryan

Jason Seymour

Eva Tuck


Find out more about our Councillors »

Our Staff »

Staff at the Chatham Islands Council provide planning and support for the Council and its committees, and information about Council business, including elections and consultation with the community… Read more »

Contact Us »

Postal, phone, fax, and other contact details for the Council… Read more »

Council Meetings »

Council meetings are held on Thursdays… Meeting schedule »

Policies »

Includes gambling & liquor licensing policies… Read more »

Council Income »

The Chatham Islands Council’s income comes from rates, Council dues and Government assistance… Read more »

Forms and Applications »

Includes fire permit, resource consents, swing mooring forms… Read more »

Useful Websites »

Links to websites related to the Chatham Islands or the Council.. Read more »

More Information

Includes elections information, Local Governance Statement… Read more »

What We Do »

Our activities and services… Read more »

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!